Sequence – A "must have" family game

Sequence is easily the most played game in our family board game collection.
So I guess it almost goes without saying that it’s also one of our most highly rated family games.

Can the whole family enjoy Sequence?

Sequence box

Simple fun stored in a simple box.

Absolutely! It’s perfect for family game time.
Here are just a few reasons why we love Sequence:

  • Simple and easy for everyone to play
  • Playing in teams heightens the anticipation and fun
  • Plenty of luck makes it great for all ages to join in
  • Scales fantastically and plays equally well with a wide number of players
  • Can still keep you on your toes
  • The end is always close
  • Easy to chat with others while playing


Is there really strategy involved in Sequence?

Sequence up close

It can get crowded with 3 teams.

Some may say that there isn’t any strategy in Sequence. But we disagree. Sure you can’t control what cards you draw. But the trick is making the most of the cards you do have. And with two spaces on the board for each card, you do need to choose your position wisely.

Now that doesn’t mean that we haven’t been beaten by a youngster just randomly throwing down cards. But that’s very rare. Of course, it’s also very funny when it happens. Their eyes light up like crazy as if they planned it that way the whole time.


How many people can play Sequence?

While the game rules say it can be played with 2, 3, 4, 6, 8, 9, 10, or 12 we haven’t held back from playing with even more. As long as the number of players is divisible by 2 or 3, you can split into even teams. And it’s the whole team aspect that makes it such a fun game.

Sequence board

Sometimes the games go by very quickly.

Since you already have to deal with the luck of the draw on what cards you get, adding a teammate heightens the luck and anticipation of what’s to come even more. As the game progresses, the anticipation continues to build as well. While hoping to get just the right card to complete a sequence you’re also nervously hoping that your opponents don’t block you, or worse, remove one of your pieces.

And the more players there are, the longer you sit anticipating that nothing bad happens before your next turn. But that’s what makes it so fun.


How does Sequence score on the “Let’s Play Again” meter?

Sequence scores super high on our “Let’s Play Again” meter. Once we get started playing a game of Sequence, we’ll always play multiple games. It may be just a simple game, but that’s why it’s so accessible for everyone to play.

Sequence board gameWe’ve played for hours on end for a few reasons. The first is that inevitably when a game ends, the non-winning team/s are close to winning as well. And who can sit still and not call out for a rematch? The second reason is that Sequence lends itself well to visiting while playing. So it’s perfect for family gatherings when you’re just sitting around the table taking it easy.

Sequence is also a game that people can leave or join throughout the night. If someone wants to join in or someone has had enough, it’s easy enough to rearrange the teams for the next game and keep rolling right along.

We highly recommend you get a game of Sequence going and enjoy the company.

The Board Game Family Game Ratings
Caleb: 4 Meeples Caleb
Brooke: 4.5 Meeples Brooke
Jaden: 4 Meeples Jaden
Trevor: 3.5 Meeples Trevor
Mom: 5 Meeples Mom
Dad: 5 Meeples Dad
AVerage: 4.5 Meeples Average


Comments: 36


The question is what if you make a sequence down one side of the board between the 2 wildcards and then finish filling it the blanks until all spots are filled between the 2 wild cards. Does this count as 2 sequences?


Jim Vanderkolk

A sequence is made, on the outside, next to the corner, not using the corner. 5 numbers, without the corner. I contend the corner can not be used in the sequence and only the five placed on the board, without the corner, are used as a sequence. Others contend that a choice can be made and the corner be used as one of the five. What are the rules on this?



    A corner counts as one of the 5 in a sequence. So when connecting to the corner spot, a team only needs 4 markers of their color in a line from the corner. Here is the statement from the rules: “There are printed chips in the four corners of the game board. All players must use them as though their color marker chip is in the corner. When using a corner, only four of your marker chips are needed to complete a Sequence. More than one player/team may use the same corner as part of a Sequence.”



Does anyone know if there is an “online” version of Sequence? I’ve searched and have had no luck. We don’t always have room to pack our board games.




yes its called Jacks GoneWild



Does a sixth marker chip continuing a fixed sequence become “locked” into that fixed sequence?



    Samantha – No, a 6th chip doesn’t become locked as part of the 5-chip completed sequence. Only 1 chip in a finished sequence can be used for a subsequent sequence.



Can a person play off his team’s “crowned” sequence? If so, can he play off any of the 5?



    Matlock – Yes, you can play off of a completed sequence. However, you can only count 1 of those discs/markers in the new sequence. So the most natural is that the 2 sequences cross each other. If they were to continue in a straight line, it would have to be a very long line to only share 1 marker in each sequence.



For 8 players is that 2 teams of 4?



If one player gets a sequence but doesn’t realize it, does it count no matter what? Or do they have to recognize the sequence for it to count? I got a winning sequence right after the other team “won” but they didn’t realize they had won.



    Add – I guess that all depends on how you like to play your games. No matter the game, do you consider the person that meets the game’s win conditions to be the winner? In my view, if someone gets the winning five-in-a-row before me, then I can’t imagine that I’ve really beaten them. Whether I’d get a sequence on my next turn or might do it 3 turns from now, I’ve still lost because they met the win condition before me. Whether they notice or not is irrelevant to me. I haven’t won.



Question for you. We got this for Xmas and have been playing with three people and have encountered a couple times when we’ve run out of cards from the ‘draw’ deck before any of us had got a sequence. Do you re-shuffle or just call it a draw? Thanks



    Nik – That’s quite the game to get that far and not have a single sequence. Yes, in that case I’d reshuffle the discards and keep going. Remember, if you have a card in your hand that has both spots on the board for that card covered, you can discard it and draw a new card.



Does the sequence have to be all of the same suit?



    Larry – No. The only thing that matters in a sequence is the color tokens in a row. Those tokens can be sitting on any suit.



What happens when the board is full and no sequence reached? Do you still draw cards?



    B – With the hundreds of times we’ve played Sequence, that has never occurred. Since there are wild Jacks that remove tokens and wild Jacks that let you place wherever you want, it always works out.



      Sorry should have been clearer so what happened to us while playing is we got down to only one open spot on the game board. So obviously we can trade dead card but what happens then if you can’t play it just keeps going to the next person for one pull and if they can’t play it keeps going to the next? Thanks a ton!



        Bernardo – Did you take a photo of that board? I’d love to see it! I would think that if you only have one open spot, then you’d have a whole hand full of dead cards, in which case you’d discard and draw another card. But if that is also dead, then you’d repeat and do the same. Eventually you’ll pull a 1-eyed Jack card and be able to remove any piece on the board. Thus, there will now be 2 open space on the board and most likely open up an spot that will let you make a needed connection for a win.



Sequence game – Diagonally a sequence is build and declared.
can i create new sequence by adding 2 at one end and 3 at another end of the existing sequence, to create 2 sequences? This basically changes the first declared sequence. Can we do that?



    RK – No. You can only reuse one token of a sequence for a subsequent sequence. Once a sequence is played, it can’t be changed. If you add 4 at one end of a completed sequence, then it could work because the last token in the first sequence would be the only token shared to form the second sequence.



Do we use all 104 cards, or one deck, as these are packed separately, and no where does it tell me to use one or the two packs



If I replace my dead card and play, I lose one card. And if I do it again, I will lose another card in my hand.
Is this correct?



    So – No, that’s not correct. Let’s say you have 5 cards in hand. One of them is a “dead card” because both spaces on the board for that card are covered with a chip. What you do is replace that card with another from the deck. So on your turn, you place the dead card in the discard pile and draw another card. Thus, you’ve still got 5 cards in hand. Then you proceed to play a card and place a chip. Then, just like normal play, you draw a card to end your turn again with 5 cards.



We have 5 people. Can we make that work?



Adding 1 chip completes 2 sequences simultaneously. Rare, but does happen. Does only one of those count as being complete (4 players)?



How can 3 players come to a stale mate in sequence? Thank you



    Brook – We’ve never seen a stale mate in Sequence at any player count. Since the 1-eyed Jacks let you remove pieces from the board, the game will continue forward with options to play on. If you’ve seen otherwise, we’d love to hear about it.



(comments are closed)